The White Thorntree

Availability: In stock
ISBN:
0001000021240
Author: Frank Dalby Davison
Email to a Friend

Add to Wishlist:

Condition
Cover
Year
Price
Fair
Hard Cover
1968
$40.00

1968 First Edition.     LIMITED EDITION OF 500 COPIES WITH FACSIMILE OF AUTHOR'S SIGNATURE.
Publisher
 - The National Press Pty. Ltd., Melbourne.
Cover is hard bound with bright green cloth binding.  Corner and edge-wear with scuffing over both front and back.  Heavier at edges.  Fair condition.
Dust Jacket is nit present.
End Papers are intact.  Front flyleaf has personal inscription.
Preliminaries - Facsimile of author's signature, Dedication, Foreword, List of Contents, Poem by Kenneth Slessor .
Main Text Body : 487 Pages.    Very good.  Text is small but clear.  Light tanning at page edges.

Edges are even and unworn.
Spine is tight with no gutter damage.  Black lettering.  
Page Structure is sound with no missing pages.



Frank Dalby Davison also known as F.D. Davison and Freddie Davison, was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Whilst several of his works demonstrated his progressive political philosophy, he is best known as "a writer of animal stories and a sensitive interpreter of Australian bush life in the tradition of Henry Lawson, Joseph Furphy and Vance Palmer.   The White Thorntree is different in that it is set in Sydney in the period between World Wars 1 and II.  Taken from the Foreword, the author states ‘To put it briefly my story deals with the predicament of a number of persons in a social culture – our own – in which, notwithstanding the urgency of nature, there is no generally approved and openly arranged outlet for the sexuality between the cradle and the marriage altar and the cemetery, notwithstanding the known fact that the long time taken by children in growing up may easily outrun the currency of the springtime fancy to which their existence is owing.’

                                                                             

 

 

 

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The White Thorntree
Your Rating

Welcome to Refer a Friend Rewards Programme.

Step 1: Create a new account.

Step 2: Add books to cart and you will receive 5% discount place an order.

Step3: On successful order your friend will receive rewards, that can be used to purchase books on your next order.